Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Maple Leaf Skills-Only Tournament #2 ( Remote Only, Live, No Judging) {Open to all Canadian Teams}

01/15/2021 - 01/16/2021
Maple Leaf Skills-Only Tournament #2 ( Remote Only, Live, No Judging) {Open to all Canadian Teams}

Event Code: RE-VRC-20-2648

Program: VEX Robotics Competition

Type of Event: Tournament

Capacity: 16 / Spots Open: 4

Event Region: Alberta/Saskatchewan

Price: CA$15.00

This event is closed to registration because:
  • This event has reached capacity. Teams on waitlist may still be added.
  • It is past the registration deadline.
Event Dates

Date: 01/15/2021 - 01/16/2021

Venue/Location:

Neilburg Composite School
410 Centre Street
Neilburg, Saskatchewan S0M 2C0
Canada


Grade Level: All

Robot Skills Challenge Offered: Yes

Judging Format: No judging

Contact Information

You must login to contact this Event Partner

General Info

Welcome to the Maple Leaf Skills Only #2 Remote Event! This event is open to teams from across Canada. If spots remain in the week before the event, international teams will be welcome (international teams are free to register now, but will be moved to the waitlist pending availability).

Teams will sign up for up to 2 time slot(s) for the Skills Competition. In each time slot, you will have twenty minutes to complete as many skills runs as you like. Note that there is a maximum of 3 driver skills runs and 3 programming skills runs per event

Instructions on how/where to sign up for the available time slots are sent upon registering for the event. Be sure to check your spam/junk folder if you don't receive a sign up email immediately after you register.

Zoom will be used as the conferencing platform for this event. Links to join the event via Zoom will be sent out closer to the event date.

The cost to attend this event is $15 CAD. This should be paid before Thursday at 7 PM Mountain. Payments will be accepted by PayPal, Interac e-Transfer (preferred) or by cheque sent through snail mail.

Inspection: 
You will be inspected during your first Skills Session time slot. No additional time will be given to complete the Inspection (note that it may take a large portion of your slot to complete the inspection if you are not ready!)

Remote Skills:
You need:
• One Competition Switch, Field Controller setup with Tournament Manager, or an extra V5 Brain
• Tool for sizing (VEX measuring tool or equivalent, measuring tape, etc.)
• Webcam(s) connected to a computer with Zoom capability. One webcam is permissible if it can view the whole field as well as move around the field via the Head Ref's instructions. Otherwise, additional webcams are needed to accomplish these tasks. Webcams need to log into the event at least 5 minutes before your time slot. A mobile phone on a tripod may be acceptable if it can view the entire field.

Teams should carefully review the VRC Change Up Appendix B section regarding team requirements for Remote Skills Matches. (Pay close attention to RSE4 - RSE8)

Agenda

Deadline for signing up for Skills slots: Thursday (1/14) 7 PM Mountain (9 PM Eastern, 6 PM Pacific)

FRIDAY SESSION: Friday (1/15): 4 - 6 PM Mountain (6 - 8 PM Eastern, 3 - 5 PM Pacific), 20 minutes per team per slot to complete up to (3) Driver and (3) Programming Robot Skills matches.

SATURDAY SESSION: Saturday (1/16), 8 AM - 4 PM Mountain (10 AM - 6 PM Eastern, 7 AM - 3 PM Pacific), 20 minutes per team per slot to complete up to (3) Driver and (3) Programming Robot Skills matches.

There is a maximum of 3 driver skills runs and 3 programming skills runs per event.

Rankings finalized and announced via email by Monday (1/18).

Volunteer

Volunteers are valuable, but not needed for this remote event!

Emergency/Bad Weather Policy

Please contact Jeff Walso directly if you have any issues attending the event.

Refund Policy

Refunds will be given to teams that give notice of pulling out of the event before Wednesday, January 13 at 7 PM Mountain. No refunds will be offered after this.

Health and Safety Policies

Remote only event. Follow your team's health and safety procedures to participate in the event.

Webcast

This remote event will happen using the Zoom conferencing platform. Details on how to join the meeting will be sent out close to the event date. There will be no public access to the video, however registered teams will be able to view the runs of other teams.

Do not share the link with teams not registered as this could cause problems.