Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2020-2021: Change Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Win Point Clarification


41091A
11 months ago

We came across this situation this weekend at practice with some other teams. During Autonomous Period Red side COMPLETED their Home Row but crossed the Autonomous line. They lost the Autonomous bonus but we still awarded them the WIN POINT for completing a row.

What is the official ruling on this situation if it happens during an official tourney?

I couldn't find this situation in my search: <G18> It’s not over until it’s over. Scores will be calculated for all Matches immediately after the Match ends, once all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots on the field come to rest.

The determination of the Autonomous Bonus will occur for all Matches immediately after the Auton- omous Period ends, after all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots come to rest.

The determination of any Autonomous Win Point(s) will occur for all Matches immediately after the Autonomous Period ends, after all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots come to rest.

• One (1) WP is awarded at the end of the Autonomous Period for any Team in an Alliance earning the Autonomous Win Point.

An Autonomous Win Point is awarded to any Alliance that completes a Connected Row using their Alliance Home Row at the end of the Autonomous Period. A point bonus is awarded to the Alliance that has the most points at the end of the Autonomous Period.

Section 2 The Game

An Autonomous Win Point is awarded to any Alliance that completes a Connected Row using their Alliance Home Row at the end of the Autonomous Period.

Section 4

Tournament Definitions

Autonomous Win Point - One (1) Win Point (WP) given to an Alliance that has completed their Alliance Home Row at the end of the Autonomous Period. Both Alliances can earn this WP if both Alliances complete their Alliance Home Row.

Answered by Game Design Committee

Yes, this is a correct interpretation. The applicable rules (other than the definition of Autonomous Win Point, as quoted) would be G11 and SG2.

<G11> All rules still apply in the Autonomous Period. Any infractions committed during the Autonomous Period that are not Match Affecting, but do affect the outcome of the Autonomous Bonus, will result in the Autonomous Bonus being automatically awarded to the opposing Alliance. a. Teams are responsible for the actions of their Robots at all times, including during the Autonomous Period. Any infractions committed during the Autonomous Period that are Match Affecting can result in a Disqualification, if warranted by the rule.

<SG2> Stay on your side in Autonomous. During the Autonomous Period, Robots may not contact the foam tiles or Balls which are on the opposing Alliance’s side of the Autonomous Line. Robots may not contact the Goals that are in the opposing Alliance’s Home Zone. Violations of this rule will result in the Autonomous Bonus being awarded to the opposing Alliance. Intentional, strategic, or egregious violations, such as intentional contact with an opposing Robot while completely across the Autonomous Line, will result in a Disqualification.

This was a violation of SG2 (and potentially G11), which provide guidance for how the Autonomous Bonus should be awarded. However, the Autonomous Win Point and the Autonomous Bonus are scored independently of each other.