Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2020-2021: Change Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Referee Certification and G12


2114C
1 year ago

Hi, as I took the test to certify myself as a Head Ref, I noticed some discrepancies between questions on the test and rules in the game manual. Mainly, this question in Unit 5:

Consider this situation: A red Robot is trying to score a Ball in the center Goal and a blue Robot is trying to block that Ball from being scored. In that interaction, the Robots push on each other and both end up tipping over, entangled in each other and therefore are disabled in the middle of the field. If the referee determines that this was Match affecting, which robot(s) should be disqualified from the Match?

  • The red Robot
  • The blue Robot
  • Both Robots
  • Neither of the Robots

The test marks the correct answer as "The blue Robot", however I am confused as to how this is the case. G12 states:

Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of opposing Robots are not part of the ethos of the VEX Robotics Competition and are not allowed. If the tipping, Entanglement, or damage is ruled to be intentional or egregious, the offending Team may be Disqualification from that Match. Repeated offenses could result in Disqualification from the entirety of the competition.

VEX Robotics Competition Change Up is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal gameplay without violation.

Emphasis mine. By my interpretation of G12, and with the information that we have been given, neither robot should be DQed. This is because G12 makes no reference to whether the tipping was match affecting or not (indeed, at worlds match affecting or not has not had an effect on G12 rulings); it only prescribes a DQ if the tipping is ruled to be “intentional or egregious”. Since we are not told whether or not the tipping was intentional or egregious (and common sense says it was not intentional due to the fact that the blue robot also tipped over), I do not see a reason that the blue robot should be DQed.

Is the interpretation of G12 correct in this question on the certification test? If yes, would the GDC please elaborate as to why that is the case?

Answered by Game Design Committee

Thank you for your question. After further review, we agree that the original wording of this question may not give enough contextual information to answer it correctly. This question has been re-written for the certification exam to give the necessary context clues.

As a reminder, general suggestions or feedback can always be directed to GDC@vex.com. Feedback or questions regarding the Head Referee Certification exam can be shared by clicking on the Feedback button within the certification course.