Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 3, "Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question".
The definition of Starting Position reads as follows, with a portion bolded for emphasis:
Starting Position – Any one of the designated 11” x 19” (279.4mm x 482.6mm) volumes of the Field where Robots must start the Match. Starting Positions are bound by the inner edges of the long black lines, outer edge of the short black line, and the inner edge of the field perimeter. See Figure 17 for more details.
The Starting Position is intended to be an infinitely tall 3-dimensional projection of the 11" x 19" area.
So, no. Robots must begin the Match completely contained within this volume.