We saw the question with clarification for the low goal scoring ball touching the field and clearing the plane as counting. I just wanted to make sure this image that I am submitting is clearly what you were talking about. As we prepare for state we realized we haven't been counting these as points and it could make a difference in the scoring of our students scores. I just want to make sure that this diagram is what you are referring to when you say it clears the plane and still can count. Thank you!
The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.
Ball scored in low goal scoring question (picture included)
Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 3, "Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question".
The relevant Q&A post being referenced is the following:
As noted in that Q&A post, the relevant rules / definitions are as follows, with a portion bolded for emphasis:
Low Goal - The area in the center of the Field surrounding the High Goal structure. On two sides, the Low Goal is bound by clear plastic sheets. On the other two sides, the Low Goal is bounded by the outer edge of the teal PVC pipes, and the VEX IQ parts attached to the Floor. The plastic sheets, PVC pipes, and VEX IQ parts are considered part of the Low Goal.
Scored - A Ball status. A Ball is considered Scored at the end of a Match if it is not touching a Robot, and if it is “in” one of the Goals:
- The Ball is partially or fully within the three-dimensional area defined by the infinite vertical projection of the Low Goal, or
- The Ball is above the bottom surface of the High Goal, and partially or fully within the three-dimensional area defined by the infinite vertical projection of the High Goal.
Yes, the attached picture is correct, and that Ball would be considered Scored in the Low Goal.