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Welcome to the official VEX IQ Challenge Question & Answer system, where all registered teams have the
opportunity to ask for official rules interpretations and clarifications. This Q&A system is the only source for
official VIQC Pitching In rules clarifications, and the clarifications made here from the Game Design Committee
(GDC) are considered as official and binding as the written Game Manual itself.

Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting. This system is only intended for specific VIQC Pitching
In rules questions.

e For event, registration, or other competition support questions, please contact your REC Foundation

Manager.
e For VEX technical support, contact support@vex.com or sales@vex.com.

e For game questions, suggestions, or concerns outside of specific and official rules questions, contact
GDC@vex.com



https://link.vex.com/docs/viqc/pitching-in/Game-Manual
https://robotevents.com/VIQC/2021-2022/QA/guidelines
http://www.robotevents.com/support
http://www.robotevents.com/support
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Clarification on R1

R1

According to <R1> teams may not have more than one robot. Additionally, in <Rl1a> teams may not participate with one
robot while another is being modified or assembled. The clarification refers to use of a second robot diminishing "the
efforts of a team that has spent extra design time making sure their one Robot can accomplish all of the game's tasks."

If iterative design and improvement is the goal, would teams be allowed to have a second robot at all? Is there a
difference between what is allowed for "practice purposes" as opposed to during competition? Would creating and
practicing with a second robot diminish the efforts of a team carefully assessing improvements, evaluating risk and
potential benefit?

Answered by committee

The full text of the "blue box" at the end of <R1> reads as follows, with a portion bolded for emphasis:

The intent of <Rla>, <R1b>, and <R1c> are to ensure an unambiguous level playing field for all
Teams. Teams are welcome (and encouraged) to improve or modify their Robots between events, or
to collaborate with other Teams to develop the best possible game solution.

However, a Team who brings and / or competes with two separate Robots at the same
tournament has diminished the efforts of a Team who spent extra design time making sure that their
one Robot can accomplish all of the game’s tasks. Similarly, a multi-team organization that shares a
single Robot has diminished the efforts of a multi-team organization who puts in the time, effort, and
resources to undergo separate individual design processes and develop their own Robots.

To help determine if a robot is a “separate Robot” or not, use the Subsystem definitions found in <R1>.
Above that, use common sense as referenced in <G3>. If you can place two complete and legal
Robots on a table next to each other, then they are two separate Robots. Trying to decide if changing
a pin, a wheel, or a motor constitutes a separate Robot is missing the intent and spirit of this rule.

Most Robot rules, including <R1>, are intended to apply within the context of a competition event. For example, <R1-
a> is intended to prohibit competing with one Robot in a Match while a second Robot is being assembled in the
Team pit area.

There are no rules prohibiting the use of a separate "practice Robot" between events, provided that no other rules
are violated (namely, <R1-c>, <R2>, <G2>, etc).

Using VexAl Robots in the VexU Competition

R1

Can a collegiate VexAl team also register as a VexU team to compete in both competitions? This would seem to violate
<R1> section d, since it states that a robot may not compete under multiple team numbers. But the spirit of the rule

seems to be to prevent multiple teams/organizations from sharing a robot, not to prevent one team from competing in
both VexU and VexAl.

Answered by committee

Yes, the same group of Students may register as both a VEX U Team and a collegiate VAIC Team. Yes, they may
use the same Robot for each competition (provided that no other Robot rules are violated in either one).



R1 is intended to apply to Teams within the same REC Foundation competition platform / grade level. In a
tournament, a VEX U Team and a VAIC Team would never share the same field, Skills ranking, Alliance selection,
etc. (of course, the Robot cannot be used in multiple programs by separate groups of Students, since that Robot
would not represent the skill level of both Team(s), i.e. would be in violation of rule G6)

Tetherbots and R1

R1

A team has a main robot and a tethered minibot. For skills matches the team disconnects the minibot and uses only the
main robot. Is this a violation of rule R1, specifically R1c?

Rlc states "Teams may not switch back and forth between multiple Robots during a competition. This includes using
different Robots for Skills Challenge, Qualification and/or Elimination Matches"

Answered by committee

The Subsystem definitions in R1 read as follows:

« Subsystem 1: Mobile robotic base including wheels, tracks, legs, or any other mechanism that allows
the Robot to navigate the majority of the flat playing field surface. For a stationary Robot, the robotic
base without wheels would be considered Subsystem 1.

» Subsystem 2: Power and control system that includes a legal VEX battery, a legal VEX control
system, and associated motors for the mobile robotic base.

» Subsystem 3: Additional mechanisms (and associated motors) that allow manipulation of game
objects or navigation of field obstacles

Given the above definitions, a minimum Robot for use in any VEX Robotics Competition event
(including Skills Challenges) must consist of 1 and 2 above. Thus, if you are swapping out an entire
subsystem of either item 1 or 2, you have now created a second Robot and are no longer legal.

It is always difficult to provide a blanket answer based on a snapshot description of a hypothetical design. For this to
be legal, inspectors and Head Referees should make the following decisions:

1. If the "minibot" portion of your Robot is not considered Subsystem 1 or Subsystem 2 of your Robot (i.e. it is
not the "mobile robotic base").
2. If Subsystems 1 and 2 are not swapped out when changing between configurations.

If these conditions are met, and the "minibot" can therefore be interpreted as Subsystem 3, then this would be a
legal configuration change. At this point, the Robot would be subject to R3, which discusses Robots with multiple
functional configurations.

<R3> Robots must pass inspection. Every Robot will be required to pass a full inspection before being
cleared to compete. This inspection will ensure that all robot rules and regulations are met. Initial
inspections will take place during team registration/practice time.

a. Significant changes to a Robot, such as a partial or full swap of Subsystem 3, must be re-inspected
before the Robot may compete again.

b. All possible functional Robot configurations must be inspected before being used in competition.

Clarification of <R1> and <R2>

R1 R2



Rule <R1> allows teams to replace subsystem 3 during a competition, such as a flywheel, cap lifter, scissor lift etc, whilst
rules <R1> and <R2> limit teams to only having one robot at a competition:

Would a team be allowed to have spare subsystem 3s for their entire robot if they are identical to the subsystem originally
on the robot? Would having replacement subsystem 3s for all the parts of the robot class as being a second robot
effectively for spares, breaking rule <R2>

This is because we intend on building a modular robot where each subsystem 3 can be swapped out with ease, whilst
keeping the same subsystem 1 and 2

Answered by committee

Yes, this is legal. As you noted, <R1> only prohibits teams from swapping Subsystems 1 and 2. Remember that if
you have multiple configurations with different Subsystem 3 mechanisms, your Robot must be inspected in all
possible configurations per <R2b>.

<R1> (a) second robot clarification

R1

"<R1> Only one (1) robot will be allowed to compete per team in the VEX Robotics Competition. ... a. Teams may not
compete with one robot while a second is being modified or assembled.”

Teams in my region (and | assume others) are now receiving V5 kits. They have Cortex robots built but want to work on
their V5 robot. For several schools, tournaments are the longest block of time available to work on a robot. Does <R1>(a)
prevent them from competing with their Cortex robot while building their V5 robot if they don't compete with the V5?

Secondly, <R1>(Subsystem 1) states: "..For a stationary robot, the robotic base without wheels would be considered
Subsystem 1." Would a team be allowed to have a stationary base (w/o Subsystem 2) for the purpose of working on a
Subsystem 3?

Thank you.

Answered by committee

Does <R1>(a) prevent them from competing with their Cortex robot while building their V5 robot if they
don't compete with the V5?

The red box underneath <R1> helps to clarify this:
To help determine if a robot is a “separate robot” or not, use the Subsystem definitions found in <R1>.
Above that, use common sense as referenced in <G2>. If you can place two robots on a table next to

each other, and they look like two separate legal/complete robots (i.e. each have the 3 Subsystems
defined by <R1>), then they are two robots.

So, the answer to your specific question is "Yes". Competing with one Robot at an event while working on a second
Robot (which has a second Subsystem 2) at the same event is an explicit violation of <R1>.
Would a team be allowed to have a stationary base (w/o Subsystem 2) for the purpose of working on a

Subsystem 3?

Yes, this would be legal. <R1> includes the following statement:




Given the above definitions, a minimum robot for use in any VEX Robotics Competition event
(including Skills Challenges) must consist of 1 and 2 above.

A Robot without both subsystems 1 and 2 would not be considered a second "Robot" within the purest definition of
<R1>.

Subsystem removal

R1

Rule

<R1> Only one (1) robot will be allowed to compete per team in the VEX Robotics Competition. Though it
is expected that teams will make changes to their robot at the competition, a team is limited to only one (1)
robot. As such, a VEX robot, for the purposes of the VEX Robotics Competition, has the following
subsystems:

Subsystem 1: Mobile robotic base including wheels, tracks, legs, or any other mechanism that allows the
robot to navigate the majority of the flat playing field surface. For a stationary robot, the robotic base
without wheels would be considered Subsystem 1.

Subsystem 2: Power and control system that includes a legal VEX battery, a legal VEX control system, and
associated motors for the mobile robotic base.

Subsystem 3: Additional mechanisms (and associated motors) that allow manipulation of game objects or
navigation of field obstacles. Given the above definitions, a minimum robot for use in any VEX Robotics
Competition event (including Skills Challenges) must consist of 1 and 2 above. Thus, if you are swapping
out an entire subsystem of either item 1 or 2, you have now created a second robot and are no longer legal.

a. Teams may not compete with one robot while a second is being modified or assembled.

b. Teams may not switch back and forth between multiple robots during a competition. This includes using
different robots for Skills Challenge and Qualification / Elimination Matches.

c. Multiple teams may not use the same robot. Once a robot has competed under a given team number at
an event, it is “their” robot - no other teams may compete with it for the duration of the competition season.

Question: Our team would like to clarify that we can compete with and without our lift under the ruling of R1 We
understand that we will have to have the robot reinspected when a subsystem 3 is removed and put back on. We operate
using V5 with 8 motors with the lift (4 motors used for our lift) and 6 without the lift (we add two motors to our drive train)
The purpose of removing the lift is because it's so heavy and we want to add speed.

Answered by committee

Yes, this would be legal within <R2>, quoted here for reference and bolded for emphasis.

<R2> Every robot will be required to pass a full inspection before being cleared to compete. This
inspection will ensure that all robot rules and regulations are met. Initial inspections will take place
during team registration/practice time.

a. If significant changes are made to a robot, such as a partial or full swap of Subsystem 3, it must be
re-inspected before it will be allowed to compete.

b. If a robot has multiple functional configurations, all possible configurations must be
inspected before being used in competition.

c. Teams may be requested to submit to random spot-inspections by event personnel. Refusal to
submit will result in Disqualification.




d. Referees or inspectors may decide that a robot is in violation of the rules. In this event, the team in
violation will be disqualified and the robot will be barred from the playing field until it passes re-
inspection.



