Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG1, G9 - Teams Positioning the matchload bar


Jacob Church (Event Partner)
27-Nov-2023

<SG1> <SG1>Starting a Match. Prior to the start of each Match, the Robot must be placed such that it is: c. Not contacting any other gray foam field tiles, including the Match Load Zones. d. Not contacting any Triballs other than a maximum of one (1) Preload. See rule <SG4>. i. Contact with the field perimeter and/or Match Load Bars is permitted, but not required. Note: The Triballs which start in each Match Load Zone must be contacting the Match Load Zone at the start of the Match. However, they may be repositioned during pre-Match setup by the Team whose Robot is using the Starting Tiles adjacent to that Match Load Zone.

<G9> Note: Any concerns regarding Field Element or Triball starting positions should be raised with the Head Referee prior to the Match. Team members may never adjust the Triballs or Field Elements themselves, except for Match Load Zone Triballs as described in <SG1>

The matchload bar has a significant amount of play on the brackets within the field. Addressing this based off G9 a team may not reposition the match load bar itself, however the movement of the match load bar is somewhat influential for autons, with various angles and positionings across the 2 dimensional plane of the field (see image below). Further more SG1 allows contact with the match load bar - a strategy involves a robot placed ontop of this bar which may shift the bar in the act of placing a robot on/against this barrier. These alignments are influential for auton and pre match shifting of the triball in the zone all present a case for shifting the match load bar. The angle and placement potentially risks exceeding 1" of tolerance. This also adjusts how triballs can be placed in the zone and placement of said triball may affect the positioning of the match load bar itself.

How should referees approach the bars positioning?

Can teams adjust the positioning of the bar through robot positioning when placing their matchload?

img

Answered by committee
14-Dec-2023

The angle and placement potentially risks exceeding 1" of tolerance.

The Match Load Bars are dynamic field elements and are extremely loosely attached to the field. For Match Load Bars, the 1” tolerance provided by rule <T10> refers to potential bending of the brackets, manufacturing tolerances, different amounts of field wear, and similar situations. In general, if the Match Load Bar remains correctly attached to the field perimeter, its position will likely always be considered as falling within the allowable tolerance.

How should referees approach the bars positioning?

They shouldn't. See the previous answer.

Can teams adjust the positioning of the bar through robot positioning when placing their matchload?

Because clause F1 of rule <SG1> allows a Robot to begin the Match in contact with a Match Load Bar, it is expected that the Robot's position may affect the exact position of the Match Load Bar. There is no rule against this.