We are requesting further clarification on this q&a. We would like this ruling to be abundantly clear, as some tournaments are interpreting this issue differently.
According to SG4, a robot that early expands and “cannot rectify the Violation cannot participate in further gameplay.” Our question is: does the robot have to retract back into the 18”x18”x18” before the endgame in order to “rectify the violation,” or does the team have to wait until the endgame begins to engage in any other gameplay as this would be considered rectifying the situation because there are no expansion limits during this time?
For example: a blue alliance robot early expands and does not retract the expansion before the endgame. The robot sits idle for the rest of the match until the endgame. During the end game, this robot scores a roller for the blue alliance. This action causes the blue alliance to win the match. Is this considered a major violation and would result in a disqualification of the blue robot?