As a referee, I would like some clarification on <SG7> and <SG9> as they pertain to actions that a robot can take to removing the fourth disk.
- If a robot is in possession of four disks, would it be considered match affecting if they intentionally shot a disk out of the field to get their disk count back down to three. *This is assuming that they are only able to remove a disk by shooting it out rather than removing it from their intake. * Had they not been able to remove the fourth, they would have to avoid all aspects of gameplay and thus it would change the outcome of the match. Granted, if this occurs at the end of the match, it may not be considered match affecting, but it would depend on the final score.
1a) As an example, say a red robot is right against the field perimeter at the start of driver control and in possession of four disks. This robot shoots one out of the field so that it can continue gameplay. This is initially a warning per <SG9> for removing game objects from the field. At the end of the match, red wins. From watching the match, if the red robot had to have refrained from gameplay due to possessing four disks the outcome would have been different, thus match affecting. Would the red robot be DQ'ed in this scenario?
If a robot picks up a disk from a low goal and it is the fourth disk that they would be possessing, where is the appropriate location to remove the disk? (Back into the low goal or into the neutral tiles on the field)
If a robot in possession of four disks shoots one disk out into a low or high goal and scoring it, would it automatically be considered match affecting as it is an intentional violation by not going to remedy the possession of four before continuing gameplay per <SG7>?
3a) What about if a robot picks up a fourth disk while proceeding to rotate a roller? This will probably be more of a case-by-case basis, but it is something that is being seen more and more recently as some teams have their intake tied into their roller mechanism.
Thank you for your time,