Is it an early horizontal expansion if a part of your intake, collar, or another part falls off your robot? The ref was unsure of this and declared all of these issues as early expansion and removed these robots from game play.
This Q&A is now read-only
The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.
Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up
<SG4> Horizontal expansion vs. Loss of Parts
Answered by committee
As described in the note following rule <G5>, parts that become detached unintentionally are ignored for the purposes of any rules involving Robot contact or size, including horizontal expansion.
However, because leaving mechanisms on the field is specifically disallowed by rule <G5>, the Team should receive a Minor Violation as described in the <G5> Violation Notes (which can become a Major Violation after multiple Minor Violations).