During the practice, there have been cases where the robot crashed and disconnected from the field control, but it will return to normal after restarting. How to deal with this situation? According to the < G9 >, can we immediately respond to the referee if the robot shuts down, crashes or fails to connect? Can we immediately restart the machine after the response, or is it the behavior described in this rule?
This Q&A is now read-only
The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.
Robot crashes or disconnects
According to the < G9 >, can we immediately respond to the referee if the robot shuts down, crashes or fails to connect?
This would be governed by rule G9-a, quoted here for reference:
<G9> Hands out of the field. Drive Team Members are prohibited from making intentional contact with any Discs, Field Elements, or Robots during a Match, apart from the contact specified in <G9a>.
a. During the Driver Controlled Period, Drive Team Members may only touch their own Robot if the Robot has not moved at all during the Match. Touching the Robot in this case is permitted only for the following reasons:
i. Turning the Robot on or off
ii. Plugging in a battery
iii. Plugging in a V5 Robot Radio
iv. Touching the V5 Robot Brain screen, such as to start a program
Therefore, this type of reset would only be permitted if the Robot has not moved at all during the Match.