According to the game manual, rule SC4: <SC4> A Roller is Owned by an Alliance if the area between the Roller’s pointers is entirely that Alliance’s color, when viewed from above. If a Roller is “too close to call” between two states, then referees are advised to give the “benefit of the doubt” to the color that is within the two pointers. For example, in Figure 16, if either Roller was positioned such that the color boundary was directly beneath the pointer and it was “too close to call,” then it should be considered Owned by the blue Alliance.
My team cannot find anywhere in the rules where it states how the roller has to be turned. They have built a mechanism that turns the gear that the roller is attached to. Would this be a legal way to turn the roller?