The official VEX IQ Robotics Competition Question & Answer system has closed for this season.

Official Q&A: VEX IQ Robotics Competition 2024-2025: Rapid Relay

Usage Guidelines All Questions

2361: Further Clarification of Independent Contact and Scoring


Allison Dotson (Event Partner)
8-Dec-2024

<SC5> <2220> <2286> <2305> In our recent competition we ran into a understanding of this rule that I would like clarified.

One team, robot 1, spit the ball at another team so that it bounced off robot 2 and considered that a pass then robot 1 got the ball and scored.

Technically they both independently contacted it. Can the first robot get the ball again to score. Would this count as one goal and one pass?

In this same competition, Robot 1 attempts to score but misses then Robot 2 picks up that ball and counts it as a pass and then scores. Would this count as one goal and one pass?

Answered by committee
11-Dec-2024

One team, robot 1, spit the ball at another team so that it bounced off robot 2 and considered that a pass then robot 1 got the ball and scored. Technically they both independently contacted it. Can the first robot get the ball again to score. Would this count as one goal and one pass?

Yes.

In this same competition, Robot 1 attempts to score but misses then Robot 2 picks up that ball and counts it as a pass and then scores. Would this count as one goal and one pass?

Yes.

If each Robot has contacted the Ball (at any time between that Ball being Loaded and leaving the Field) while the other Robot is not contacting the Ball, they have achieved a Pass.