Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VIQC 2021-2022: Pitching In

Usage Guidelines All Questions

IQ Starting Position Volume


Pete Niemann (Event Partner)
22-Feb-2022

In VRC a robot may overhang a starting tile as long as nothing is touching the field outside of the home row.

Does the same apply for IQ? Can a robot overhang a 11x19 starting position as long as the wheels are inside or is it a projected 3D volume?

Answered by committee

Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 3, "Quote the applicable rule from the latest version of the manual in your question".

The definition of Starting Position reads as follows, with a portion bolded for emphasis:

Starting Position – Any one of the designated 11” x 19” (279.4mm x 482.6mm) volumes of the Field where Robots must start the Match. Starting Positions are bound by the inner edges of the long black lines, outer edge of the short black line, and the inner edge of the field perimeter. See Figure 17 for more details.

The Starting Position is intended to be an infinitely tall 3-dimensional projection of the 11" x 19" area.

So, no. Robots must begin the Match completely contained within this volume.