All related rules are quoted in QA 431, thus I will not quote here again to keep this question from being a mega long thread.
According to QA 432,
The intent of SG3-E is to prevent Robots from interfering with opposing Robots' ability to Score Cubes in their own Inner Protected Zone, and to provide an additional element of risk for Robots attempting to drive anywhere in the vicinity of an opponents Inner Protected Zone.
It seems like that the indirect contact via opponent robot part of SG3 only kicks in situationally. Can some examples be provided to elaborate on when do they apply and when do they not apply?
A> Red robot A is parked in the blue alliance outer protected zone. Blue robot B is entering the protection zone with the tray facing forward(i.e. backing into the Inner Protection Zone), blue robot B’s long reaching tray contacts the inner protection zone and then blue robot B contacts red robot A.
B> Blue robot B is contacting the barrier/goal zone when attempting to place a stack, and red robot A comes to make contact with blue robot B.
C> Blue robot B is a Offensive robot. It has a super long, near horizontal tray, while it is maneuvering around the field, its tray enters the inner protection zone and the robot makes contact with an opponent robot.
D> Blue robot B is a defensive robot. It has part of its robot in inner protected zone, the other part parking at somewhere else on the field. It does not try to make intentionally contact with opponent robot, however, red robot A somehow contacts the wall created by blue robot B, outside of protection zone.
E> Blue robot B is a offensive robot. It has part of its robot in inner protected zone, the other part robot playing the game as normal. It has part of its robot in inner protected zone for the purpose of avoiding defense being played on this robot during matchplay. Red Robot A contacts blue robot B, outside of protection zone.
For the above situations, which of the following would apply?
a. No violations has been committed and no calls will be made since indirect contact does not kick in under this situation
b. Red robot A are ordered to leave immediately and cant come back. If they don’t leave they will be called on the ground of indirect contact
c. Red robot A are ordered to leave immediately, however they can come back. If they don’t leave they will be called on the ground of indirect contact
d. There is no grace period and the red robot A will be called for indirect contact. Which includes auto DQ under situation A.
For situation b, if red robot A can’t come back, how long does this period last, until the rest of the match? For 5 seconds?
And for above situations, what if the robot that is being pushed in gets stuck in the goal zone? (they are attempting to come out, but they cant)
I understand that not all situations will be covered, however, leaving every situation to referee’s discretion would cause inconsistencies between events and regions.