Official Q&A: VEXU 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

G12 Rule


94855S
hace 3 meses

It seems there are loose interpretations of the G12 rule and what Entanglement means. Thoughts for future competitions?

G12: Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of opposing Robots are not part of the ethos of the VRC and are not allowed. If the tipping, Entanglement, or damage is ruled to be intentional or egregious, the offending team may be disqualified from that match.

Entanglement: A Robot is entangled if it has grabbed, hooked, or attached to an opposing robot or field element.

There was a robot at a competition today that legitimately did nothing but intentionally ram and use a hook to grab onto other Robot's cube stacking structures. There was nothing accidental about this strategy and was intentional all day long. They made it to the finals by doing this.

We were told that a robot isn't Entangled if there is no damage yet the definition of Entanglement (see above) says nothing of the sort. The main issue is that these competitions are preached to the students, coaches, and parents as offensive/strategic games yet concessions seem to be doled out routinely for the overly aggressive robot and rules are interpreted in their favor.

Answered by Game Design Committee

The primary purpose of the VRC Q&A is to provide clarifications for rules questions that are not covered by the VRC Tower Takeover Game Manual. The GDC cannot provide comments on specific judgment calls made by a Head Referee at an event, as we were not there to observe the specific context of the interaction; we will only comment on the rules question being posed.

We were told that a robot isn't Entangled if there is no damage yet the definition of Entanglement (see above) says nothing of the sort.

Based on the question as described here, your interpretation of G12 and the definition of Entanglement is correct. Intentional Entanglement can be considered a violation of G12 whether or not damage has occurred, just as intentional tipping can be considered a violation of G12 whether or not damage has occurred.