Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

The official VEX V5 Robotics Competition Question & Answer system has closed for this season.

Official Q&A: VEX V5 Robotics Competition 2024-2025: High Stakes

Usage Guidelines All Questions

2621: Scoring on Another Team’s Mobile Goal with Ladybrown


Jess Zarchi
12-Mar-2025

Hello GDC!

Teams more and more have been trying to score on mobile goals that are being held by other teams, sometimes doing this while already in control of a mobile goal.

<G17> says teams are not allowed to use scoring objects “as gloves”, but the red box also says this shouldn’t be taken to an extreme.

At what point does scoring on a mobile goal with a lady brown while already in control of a mobile goal become a violation of SG6?

Relevant rules: <SG6>, <G17>

Thank you for your time! :D

Answered by committee
20-Mar-2025

At what point does scoring on a mobile goal with a lady brown while already in control of a mobile goal become a violation of SG6?

Please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically point 2, "Read and search existing Q&As before posting.” We believe our answer to Scenario B in Q&A 2520 addresses your question.

That said, we can expand a little bit on our guidance from that question. Scoring a Ring on a Mobile Goal while in Possession of another Mobile Goal isn't automatically an <SG6> Violation, but if a Robot continues to hold onto the Ring after it's clearly Scored on the Mobile Goal they risk an <SG6> Violation if the Robot's actions would then move the 2nd Mobile Goal (and the Robot that's Possessing it) in a preferred direction or prevent the Robot or Mobile Goal from moving.

Any interaction with a Mobile Goal while already in Possession of another Mobile Goal is a dangerous strategy, with an inherent risk that a judgment call by the Head Referee may not be in your favor. To quote a head referee from this season, "If you have a mobile goal, pretend you're the Titanic and other mobile goals on the field are icebergs. If you touch one, it could sink you."