Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Trapping Near a Goal


Dale Nacianceno
24-Dec-2023

Trapping - Limiting the movement of an opponent Robot to a small or confined area of the field, approximately the size of one foam field tile or less, without an avenue for escape. Note that if a Robot is not attempting to escape, it is not considered Trapped.

QA 1679:

It is not the Head Referee's responsibility to know the capabilities of all Robots at an event, and recall which Robots can and cannot drive over Barriers or below Elevation Bars.

Scenario:

A red Robot is confining a blue Robot into one of the corners created by the blue Goal and the field perimeter, without directly contacting them. This corner is approximately 1 tile. The blue robot has demonstrated in this match that it can drive under the goals, and the Head Referee is aware of this. The blue Robot is attempting to escape. The red Alliance is not Double-Zoning. The Head Referee believes that the blue Robot can make it under the goal in this moment.

  1. Would this be Trapping?
  2. If the answer to #1 is no, would the answer change if the Head Referee were not aware that they can drive under goals?
  3. Would this be Trapping if it were a red Goal?
  4. If the answer to #3 is yes, would the answer change if the red Alliance were Double-Zoning?
Answered by committee
11-Jan-2024

Generally speaking, driving under a Goal should not be considered an "avenue for escape". Therefore, yes, this would be considered Trapping.