Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG8 - Definition of entering opponents goal


2140J
19-Dec-2023

SG8 states you may not enter an opponent's goal unless they are double zoned. This includes the autonomous period.

<SG8> Stay out of your opponent’s Goal unless they are Double-Zoned. During the time when an Alliance meets the definition of Double-Zoning, opposing Robots are permitted to “break the plane” of the Double-Zoning Alliance’s Goal, such as to remove Triballs.

The definition of the Goal in the manual is defined specifically for scoring:

For the purposes of scoring, the “Goal” refers specifically to the three-dimensional volume bounded by a vertical projection of the outermost PVC pipes onto the field and below the surface of the net. img

The question posed pertains to the definition of entering an opponent's goal. Is going directly above the PVC pipe on the sides of the goals without going underneath the net considered entering the goal? This would be entering the "triangle" like area shown in the picture, above the pvc pipe. There have been slightly different interpretations of this rule at competitions.:

  1. The definition referenced earlier is only meant to be used for scoring, and this action is not entering the goal itself, therefore it is not a violation. (A robot is only in violation of SG8 if they go below the net or PVC pipe)
  2. If they are going over the pvc pipe low enough to be underneath the goal net, and therefore entering the "triangle" portion referenced earlier, it is considered a violation, even if they do not go under the net itself.
Answered by committee
11-Jan-2024

As mentioned in this similar Q&A, the phrase "For the purposes of scoring" can effectively be interpreted as "For the purposes of scoring and gameplay".

The question posed pertains to the definition of entering an opponent's goal. Is going directly above the PVC pipe on the sides of the goals without going underneath the net considered entering the goal?

Yes.