Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Scoring Alliance Triballs contacted by opposite alliance triballs launched during autonomous.


Cody Clay (Event Partner)
4-Dec-2023

<SC5> Alliance Triballs may be Scored in any Goal or Offensive Zone, and always count toward the same color Alliance as the Triball. For example, a red Alliance Triball that meets the definition of Scored in the blue Goal will count as 5 points for the red Alliance. a. To be eligible for points, Alliance Triballs must not be contacting any Robots of the same color Alliance as the Triball. Contact with Robots of the oppos...

Should Alliance Triballs be scored during Autonomous when the pre-load robot does not move, and unintentional game action makes the Triball scored? I know there was a rule last year that didn't score tiles robots contacted if they did not move during the match. I do not currently see a similar rule this year, but wanted to ask anyway.

Scenario 1: Blue alliance robot 1, who is set up legally in Blue alliances zone to start the match, has pre-load at front of robot being controlled by its claw. The robot DOES NOT MOVE (due to not having an autonomous/or by having an issue). Red alliance robot 1 launches Triball that unintentionally bounces and knocks Blue Robot 1's preload out of its claw and unto the tiles, and no longer in contact with the robot, thus meeting scoring criteria. Should the blue pre-load Triball be counted as scored considering the robot did not move?

Scenario 2 Red alliance robot 1, who is set up legally in Red alliances zone to start the match, has pre-load at infront of robot being controlled by its claw. The robot DOES NOT MOVE (due to not having an autonomous/or by having an issue). Red alliance robot 2 launches Triball that unintentionally bounces and knocks Red Robot 1's preload out of its claw and unto the tiles, and no longer in contact with the robot, thus meeting scoring criteria. Should the Red pre-load Triball be counted as scored considering the robot did not move?

Answered by committee
19-Dec-2023

Should Alliance Triballs be scored during Autonomous when the pre-load robot does not move, and unintentional game action makes the Triball scored?

Yes. The rules do not consider which Robot scores a Triball (except in some cases where a Head Referee must determine whether a Violation was Match Affecting).

Scenario 1: ... Should the blue pre-load Triball be counted as scored considering the robot did not move?

Yes.

Scenario 2: ... Should the Red pre-load Triball be counted as scored considering the robot did not move?

Yes.