Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspirando estudiantes, un robot a la vez.

This Q&A is now read-only

The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Wedge, Trapping, G14


<G14> <G15>

From , QA1359, it is ruled that if robot A lifts robot B off the ground, then robot A is considered to have initiated trapping and would need to back off based on trapping rules.

In the case of robot B running into robot A and got itself wedged(such that it cannot back off from robot A),

  • does trapping count start? If so, which side needs to back off? If robot B needs to back off, and robot A does not move(so robot B is kept wedged and unable to back off), would this then be considered a violation of G15? If robot A needs to back off, can they quote G14 and choose not to move, since they were forced into a trapping count?


Answered by committee

In this example, because Robot B has wedged itself on top of Robot A, rule <G14> should protect Robot A from a Trapping call. If Robot A is unable to move, a Trapping call may be made against Robot B as described in rule <G15> at the Head Referee's discretion based on the context of the interaction and the Match.

All Trapping calls are made based on what the Head Referee and Scorekeeper Referees see during the Match, and rely on human judgment calls as described in the red-boxed note following rule <T1>.