Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG11 - Interactions with the short Barrier


Jacob Church (Event Partner)
27-Nov-2023

Some overlap with this unanswered question (as of posting)

<SG11> <SG11> Elevation is protected. During the last 30 seconds of the Match, Robots may not contact the following: a. The opposing Alliance’s Elevation Bars b. Opponent Robots who are contacting their Elevation Bars c. Opponent Robots who meet the definition of Elevated d. The Short Barriers adjacent to the opposing Alliance’s Elevation Bars

From this the short barrier itself is protected, and elevated robots are protected; no explicit protection is given for non elevated robots contacting solely their short barrier, likewise non influential transitive contact with triballs contacting this bar is potentially not a violation.

Should a robot that is contacting their short barrier be protected?

Should transitive contact be outlawed, this is influential for scoring triballs around elevation bars - potentially allowing locking down triballs.

A robot could be involved in a pushing battle with another bot underneath the elevation bar where neither is contacting a protected component however triballs are in contact with the short barrier Likewise in a similar pushing battle a triball is in contact with the elevation bar is this an sg11 violation?

These are shown in the images below, thus which of these cases should be a violation? Does transitive contact matter as long as it is not indirectly affecting an elevated robot in "a potentially damaging interaction"

image 1: Transitively contacting the barrier image 2: Transitively contacting the elevation bar Image 3: Transitively contacting the elevation bar Image 4: transitively contacting a non elevating/elevated yet protected robot (contacting its elevation bar) img img img img

Answered by committee
14-Dec-2023

A robot could be involved in a pushing battle with another bot underneath the elevation bar where neither is contacting a protected component however triballs are in contact with the short barrier Likewise in a similar pushing battle a triball is in contact with the elevation bar is this an sg11 violation?

These are shown in the images below, thus which of these cases should be a violation? Does transitive contact matter as long as it is not indirectly affecting an elevated robot in "a potentially damaging interaction"

Transitive contact is is irrelevant, as it is not mentioned in <SG11> or any other rules pertaining to this subject.

Rule <G17> would apply in cases where a Robot is specifically using a Triball to violate a rule (as described in the <G17> Violation note), such as directly using a Triball to affect a Robot that is Elevating or already Elevated.

With that in mind, the interaction shown in your 4th image (where a Robot is in contact with its Elevation Bar) could potentially be considered a Violation of rule <SG11> through <G17>, and reinforced by <G14>. The other scenarios would require a Head Referee's judgment based on the context of the interaction and Match, and we cannot provide blanket guidance.

Should a robot that is contacting their short barrier be protected?

Should transitive contact be outlawed, this is influential for scoring triballs around elevation bars - potentially allowing locking down triballs.

Please be sure to review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting, specifically note 1, "The Q&A system is for rules clarifications only." Put more pointedly - the Q&A platform is intended to be a communication channel for questions such as "is this interpretation of a rule legal", not a discussion forum for questions such as "I disagree with this rule, can it be changed?” For suggestions or concerns outside of specific and official rules questions, please use the official VEX Forum or email [email protected].