is the red robot allowed to push one of the triballs in possession into the goal, or is the only action that the red robot can take is to immediately remove the triball?
Teams should avoid scoring excess Triballs directly into a Goal. However, it would be permissible to remove a Triball into the same Offensive Zone that the Robot is already in. Since the extra Triball was presumably already Scored in that Offensive Zone before being forced into the red Robot, this would considered a neutral action in terms of Match Affecting concerns.
However, if the Robot intentionally moved into their own Offensive Zone before removing the extra, this would be considered a Minor Violation at a minimum.
can the robot bump against a wall or barrier to get the triball out?
There are no rules prohibiting this; therefore, it is legal.
If the triball is stuck and unable to be removed, does the blue robot get a major violation if the blue team wins because the red robot is no longer able to function?
Unfortunately, as with most questions impacting Match Affecting calculation, it is impossible to provide a blanket answer that will encompass all possible scenarios.
Yes, the Violation Note in rule <G15> would make it feasible for the blue Team to receive a Major Violation if the Head Referee determines that the forced situation was directly Match Affecting. To help with this determination, the Head Referee may use questions such as (but not limited to) the following:
- When did the interaction occur?
- Has the blue Robot received prior warnings or Minor Violations?
- What could the red Robot reasonably have done differently during the Match if their actions weren't limited by over-Possession?
- Did the interaction involve any egregious/intentional <G13> Violations?