Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG8 - Descoring Clarifications


1000A
15-Dec-2023

<SG8>

Rule SG8 states that "when an Alliance meets the definition of Double-Zoning, opposing Robots are permitted to 'break the plane' of the Double-Zoning Alliance’s Goal"

Point SG8B states that "entering an opponent’s Goal at any other time is prohibited. This includes staying inside of an opponent’s Goal after they end their Double-Zone status."

What would the ruling be in these scenarios:

a) The red alliance is double zoning, and a blue robot enters the red goal to descore. However, when the blue robot enters the goal, the red alliance stops double zoning, and the blue robot descores triballs after the red alliance stops double zoning, but the blue robot had entered the goal while the red allaince was still double zoning.

b) The red alliance is double zoning, and a blue robot enters the red goal to descore. However, when the blue robot enters the goal, the red alliance stops double zoning, and the blue robot attempts to exit the goal, but inadvertedly knocks out a few triballs while exiting.

c) The red alliance is double zoning, and a blue robot enters the red goal to descore. However, when the blue robot enters the goal, the red alliance stops double zoning, and the blue robot attempts to exit the goal, and knocks no triballs out when exiting.

Answered by committee
21-Dec-2023

The appropriate rulings for your scenarios are as follows:

Scenarios a & b: The blue Robot has Violated rule <SG8> and should receive a DQ if the offense is determined to be Match Affecting by the Head Referee.

Scenario c: The blue Robot has Violated rule <SG8>, but because they have not descored any Triballs it is likely a Minor Violation that would escalate to a Major Violation if it's a repeated offense.

See related Q&A 1554 for additional information.