Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

G12 Clarification - auton bonus awarded when auton outcome not affected


Tim Schmitt (Event Partner)
27-Oct-2023

<G12>

Rule G12 states that any violations committed during the Autonomous Period that affect the outcome of the Autonomous Bonus - whether they are Match Affecting or not - will result in the Autonomous Bonus being automatically awarded to the opposing Alliance. (bold for emphasis - by me).

I've seen some referees automatically award the autonomous bonus to the non-offending team, regardless of whether the outcome of autonomous bonus was affected or not. Specifically when instances of robots crossing beyond the neutral zone occur. After reading this rule more carefully, I'm thinking those calls may have been been wrong. For example:

Red 1 crosses into the Blue 1's side of the field during autonomous in the blue offensive zone. Blue 1 is positioned pointing at the side of the blue goal and pushes a triball under the side of the goal and scores those 5 points. Red 1 doesn't interfere or touch Blue 1 during any time during autonomous. On the other side of the barrier, Red 2 and Blue 2 both move legally, but Red 2 scores two triballs in the red goal and Blue 2 scores nothing. The score at the end of autonomous, in this case, would be Red-10, Blue-5.

I believe Red should be awarded the autonomous bonus in this case since the violation by Red 1 did not affect the outcome of the autonomous bonus. Is that correct?

Answered by committee
2-Nov-2023

The scenario described is a Violation of rule <SG9>, which contains a specific Violation Note superseding rule G12:

Stay in your starting Zone during Autonomous. During the Autonomous Period, Robots may not contact foam tiles, Triballs, or Field Elements on the opposing Alliance’s side of the Neutral Zone, or in the opposite Offensive Zone from which they began the Match.

Violation Notes: All Violations of this rule (Major or Minor) will result in the Autonomous Bonus being awarded to the opposing Alliance.