Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Entering opponents goal


248A
13-Oct-2023

<SG8> <SG8(d)> states "Stay out of your opponent’s Goal unless they are Double-Zoned." (d) "Entering an opponent’s Goal is not permitted at any time during the Autonomous Period."

<SC7> <SC7(d)> states "An Autonomous Win Point is awarded to any Alliance that has completed the following tasks at the end of the Autonomous Period:" (d) "Not violated any other rules."

Many teams are pushing (or attempting to push) their alliance triball under the opponents goal for the five points in the Autonomous Period. While it is possible, it is not easy at all to score the triball without the robot breaking the plane. SG8(d) is very clear that you can’t enter the opponents goal (break the vertical plane with your robot) in auton.

  1. If, while scoring their own Alliance Triball in the opponents goal, the robots breaks the plane, a) is it a minor or major penalty? b) If it is a minor penalty that affects the winner of the Autonomous Bonus, is it then a major penatly (awarding the Autonomous Bonus to the opponent)? c) To determine if it is autonomous impacting - is it a five point differential (the difference between the triball scored in a goal (5 points) and a triball touching your robot (0 points) or is it a three point differential (the difference between the triball scored in a goal (5 points) and a triball scored in the offensive zone (2 points)?

  2. Does this also mean loss of AWP (whether it is a major or minor) via SC7(d) even if all of the tasks to achieve the AWP were completed without violation (essentially, this violation did not help them complete the tasks needed for AWP).

EDIT: Including question about how to score a potentially illegally placed triball.

Answered by committee
31-Oct-2023

1a & 1b: If a Robot breaks the plane of the opponent's Goal while Scoring their Alliance Triball during the Autonomous Period, the Head Referee will first need to determine whether that Alliance outscored their opponent and by how much.

  • If their score is more than five points higher than their opponent's, the infraction did not affect the outcome of the Autonomous Period and they should be awarded the Autonomous Bonus.
  • If their score is 0-5 points higher than their opponent's, the infraction has affected the outcome of the Autonomous Period and the Autonomous Bonus should be awarded to their opponent as described in rule <G12>.

Any Violations committed during the Autonomous Period that affect the outcome of the Autonomous Bonus—whether they are Match Affecting or not—will result in the Autonomous Bonus being automatically awarded to the opposing Alliance.

In either case, the <SG8> Violation should be recorded for consideration at the end of the Match to determine whether or not the Violation was Match Affecting and should receive a Minor or Major Violation. Match Affecting can only be determined at the end of a Match once the scores have been calculated.

1c: Because the Alliance Triball begins the Match in contact with the Robot, and unscored, it is counted as a 5-point differential in this scenario.

2: Yes. Rule <SC7> says explicitly (bold text added for emphasis):

An Autonomous Win Point is awarded to any Alliance that has completed the following tasks at the end of the Autonomous Period: ...... d. Not violated any other rules.