Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

<SC7> Alliance triball scored for AWP


248A
12-Oct-2023

<SC7>

  • <SC7b> reads "Scored at least one Alliance Triball in the Alliance’s own Goal.
  • The definition of Alliance Triball is "Alliance Triball – One of four Triballs, two per Alliance, that are Alliance-colored instead of green.Alliance Triballs may be used as Preloads or Match Loads."

A scenario that teams have interpreted differently:

RED1 removed triball from Match Load Zone and touched the Elevation Bar successfully. RED2 does not move. BLUE1 legally (without breaking the plane) scores a blue alliance triball into Red Goal. BLUE2 does not move. At the end of the autonomous period, since it is specified in <SC7b> as having to be in the Alliance's own Goal, but does not specify that it has to be the alliance's own Triball, is this an AWP for RED?

Additonally, <SC7> does read that the AWP "is awarded to any Alliance that has completed the following tasks". It can be interpreted that the RED alliance did not complete that task, the BLUE alliance did. I know that previous year's rulings do not impact this year's rulings, but the context is good to understand the different interpretations - in previous years, if the one alliance did something to aid the opposing alliance achieve the AWP, it was counted.

Answered by committee
1-Nov-2023

Additonally, <SC7> does read that the AWP "is awarded to any Alliance that has completed the following tasks". It can be interpreted that the RED alliance did not complete that task, the BLUE alliance did.

This is the correct interpretation. SC7-b is intended to imply that the Alliance has Scored at least one of their own Alliance Triballs into the Alliance's own Goal. This clarification will be reflected in an upcoming Game Manual update.