Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Forcing your opponent into Double-Zoned status


Doug Hepfer (Event Partner)
15-Jun-2023

(https://www.robotevents.com/storage/game_manual/VRC_2023-2024_Over_Under/rules/G15.html)

In this year's game, the rules allow a robot to enter an opponents goal if the opponents' robots are Double-Zoned. Rule G15 says you can't force your opponent into a penalty situation, but it does not penalize forcing your opponents into the alliance status of Double-Zoned.

In playing the game this week, multiple teams have adopted a strategy of pushing an opponents second robot into their Offensive Zone late in the game, forcing the opposing alliance into a Double-Zoned status. Then their partner zooms in and clears the opponents' goal.

Please clarify that rule G15, nor any other rule, prohibits a alliance from forcing their opponents into a Double-Zoned Status.

Answered by committee
23-Jun-2023

You are correct. No rules prohibit an Alliance from forcing an opponent into a Double-Zoned status, assuming no other rules are violated in the process.