Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

<SG7> Scoring in Skills While Possessing Two Triballs


Dale Nacianceno
6-Jun-2023

<SG7> Possession is limited to one (1) Triball. Robots may not have greater-than-momentary Possession of more than one Triball at once. Robots in Violation of this rule must immediately stop all Robot actions except for attempting to remove the excess Triball(s). This rule applies to both intentional and accidental Possession.

[…]

Violation Notes: • Any intentional Violation by an Alliance who wins the Match will be considered Match Affecting.

Examples of egregious Violations that may immediately escalate to Major Violations include, but are not limited to: • Continuing to play other portions of the game (e.g., defensive maneuvers, Elevating) without attempting to remove excess Triballs for the majority of the Match • “Accidentally” Possessing an egregious amount of Triballs

  1. If a Team accidentally possesses two Triballs and Scores one, is this a Match Affecting Violation?
  2. If the answer to #1 is yes, can the Team prevent it from becoming a Major Violation by reversing the action? For example, bringing a Triball from the Red Offensive Zone to the Blue Offensive Zone.
Answered by committee
23-Jun-2023

Note: This guidance was revised for Robot Skills Challenge Matches at the 2024 VEX Robotics World Championship. Per Section 5 of version 4.0 of the game manual, "In Robot Skills Matches, Teams will get a verbal warning for the first <SG6> Violation in each Match. Any additional <SG6> Violations during a Robot Skills Match will result in a score of 0 for that Match." This guidance overrides the previous answer to this question.

Thank you for your questions!

  1. If a Team accidentally possesses two Triballs and Scores one, is this a Match Affecting Violation?

Yes. Because the Violation increased the Team's score, it should be treated as a Match Affecting Violation (unless it's also de-scored as described in #2).

  1. If the answer to #1 is yes, can the Team prevent it from becoming a Major Violation by reversing the action? For example, bringing a Triball from the Red Offensive Zone to the Blue Offensive Zone.

Yes. Although we encourage Teams to avoid rule Violations in all cases, if a Team is able to reverse a scoring action that would otherwise result in a Match Affecting Violation the referee can record it as a Minor Violation. Repeated Minor Violations may result in a DQ and a score of 0 for the Skills Match, so Teams should not use this as a strategy. We do not intend to formalize this in a rule, and these scenarios will be handled on a case-by-case basis with referee discretion.