Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

This Q&A is Read Only.

Official Q&A: VRC 2023-2024: Over Under

Usage Guidelines All Questions

<SG3> Triball Leaving the Field Near the End of a Period

Dale Nacianceno

<SG3> Keep Triballs in the field. Teams may not intentionally remove Triballs from the field. Although Triballs may accidentally leave the field, doing so intentionally or repeatedly would be a Violation of this rule.

Triballs that leave the field during Match play, whether intentionally or unintentionally, will be returned to the field at a location nearest the point at which they exited. Referees will return the Triball to the field when it is deemed safe to do so, at the leisure of the referee.


A Triball leaves the field during the Autonomous Period. Before a referee can return the Triball to the field, the Autonomous Period ends.

  1. Should the Triball be returned before Scoring of the Autonomous Period begins?
  2. If the scenario pertained to the Driver Controlled Period instead, should the Triball be returned before Scoring statuses are determined?
Answered by committee

Thank you for your question! Yes, in both of your scenarios the Triball should be returned to the field as described in rule <SG3> before that period of the Match is scored.