In the past our local referees have always considered trapping beyond 5 seconds to be a major violation. Is that correct or is there a distinction between major and minor violation with trapping depending on whether it was "match affecting", "egregious", or had happened multiple times in a tournament or match?
This Q&A is now read-only
The Official Q and A is now closed. If you want to submit a question for the Worlds Drivers Meeting, please click here. The deadline for question submission is Friday, March 24.
Can trapping be a minor violation
Because rule <G15> does not include specific Violation Notes, Head Referees should use the process illustrated in Figure 4 of the Spin Up Game Manual to determine the appropriate penalty for a Violation. To summarize that flowchart for this scenario, violations of <G15> should be considered Minor Violations unless they are Match Affecting (changing the winning and losing Alliance in the Match), include a violation of G1/S1 or the Code of Conduct, or are a repeated violation.