<G14> G14 states: "intentional strategies that cause an opponent to break a rule are not permitted, and will not result in a violation for the opposing alliance"
In our recent competition we accidentally knocked into an opposing robot, entangled with thier expansion, causing their expansion to release early. The referees agreed that this was accidental.
The opposing robot was not penalised and continued to score discs, as the referees argued that the rules state in the violation notes "In most cases, if a Team causes their opponent to break a rule, the Head Referee will simply not enforce the penalty on that opponent, and it will be considered a Minor Violation for the guilty Team." And therefore it didn't matter that we had forced them into a penalty accidentally.
We believe this to be a misruling so are asking for clarification as to whether g14 still applies if it is unintentional so this doesn't happen in future competitions, and should the match have been replayed?<G14>