Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Touching the tape on the tile


248A
12-Oct-2022

<SC5> A field tile is considered Covered if it is being contacted by a Robot at the end of a Match.

We've already had the scenario couple of times where the robot is not touching the tile, but is touching the white tape on the tile. Would touching the white tape on a tile be considered covered?
Answered by committee

> <SC5> A field tile is considered Covered if it is being contacted by a Robot at the end of a Match.

We've already had the scenario couple of times where the robot is not touching the tile, but is touching the white tape on the tile. Would touching the white tape on a tile be considered covered?

Yes. As long as the white tape has not lifted from the field tile, a tile should be scored as Covered by a Robot even when the Robot is touching only the white tape on that tile.