Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Clarification on Endgame Horizontal Expansion Outside of Field Perimeter


Sasikumar Allidurai (Event Partner)
8-Oct-2022

Question: if the end of a horizontal expansion ends up outside of the field perimeter how should the expansion be scored? Example: A robot has a horizontal expansion made up of a string with a piece of metal on the end, it has legally expanded during the end game and the piece of metal ends outside of the perimeter but the string is touching several tiles inside the field, should those tiles still be counted as covered for the score?

Answered by committee

Question: if the end of a horizontal expansion ends up outside of the field perimeter how should the expansion be scored?

As a consistent means to ensure the safety of participants, spectators, and event venues, the November 1 Game Manual update included the following additions to rules <S2> & <SG4>:

<S2> was expanded to indicate that a Robot which comes in contact with anything outside of the field during the Endgame period or due to an early expansion, including the floor or the outside face of the Field Perimeter, will automatically receive a Disqualification for that Match. This interaction will be exempted from rule <G14>, and Teams will be responsible for the effects of their own Endgame expansions, although <G1> will still apply. <SG4> references these additions to rule <S2>.

All tiles Covered by the Disqualified Robot should still be scored for their Alliance.

Q&A 1181, which also addressed this scenario, has been updated to reflect this change.