Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Regard <G15> Clarification


17022A
3-Oct-2022

I have a question about <G15> where it states no trapping for more than 5 seconds. I wonder if the 5 seconds is accumulated or it is recounted after another 5 second when it is legal to trap again. Thank you!

Sincerely, 17022A

Answered by committee

I have a question about <G15> where it states no trapping for more than 5 seconds. I wonder if the 5 seconds is accumulated or it is recounted after another 5 second when it is legal to trap again.

Thank you for your question. Rule <G15b> states that "After ending a Trap, a Robot may not Trap the same Robot again for a duration of five seconds (0:05). If a Team does Trap the same Robot again within five seconds (0:05), the count will resume from where it ended when the Trapping Robot initially backed away."

If a Robot correctly ends a Trap (as defined in rule <G15a> and waits for at least five seconds to begin a new Trap, a new count will begin for the new Trap.