Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

More than 3 Disks and Endgame scoring


355V
1-Oct-2022

SG7 States:

<SG7> Possession is limited to three (3) Discs. Robots may not have greater-than-momentary Possession of more than three (3) Discs at once. Robots in Violation of this rule must immediately stop all Robot actions except for attempting to remove the excess Disc(s).

Note: This rule applies to both intentional and accidental Possession.

Violation Notes:

  • Any intentional Violation by an Alliance who wins the Match will be considered Match Affecting.
  • Egregious Violations, such as continuing to play other portions of the Game (e.g., Rollers or Endgame) without attempting to remove excess Discs for the majority of the Match, or “accidentally” Possessing an egregious amount of Discs, may also be considered Major Violations at the Head Referee’s discretion.

And the note: "Their strategies during a Match mitigate the possibility of controversial rulings (e.g., they do not attempt to score any points while Possessing four or more Discs)."

Given that robots score points at the end of the game for touching tiles that are not part of the Low Goal (SC5), does this mean that the only location a robot carrying 4 or more disks that it cannot dislodge would be in one of the Low Goals?

More directly, does a robot that ends a match with 4 or more Disks in its possession while outside of a Low Goal automatically get Disqualified?

Answered by committee

More directly, does a robot that ends a match with 4 or more Disks in its possession while outside of a Low Goal automatically get Disqualified?

No; a Robot that ends a Match with more than 3 Disks in its possession will not automatically be Disqualified, regardless of its position on the Field.

However, a Robot that does not succeed in removing excess Discs during the Match cannot continue to play other portions of the game, as described in the 2nd violation note of rule <SG7>. A Robot that is in violation of rule <SG7> cannot participate in further gameplay and will not receive points for tiles Covered in the Endgame. If a Robot successfully removes the excess Discs, they may resume playing other portions of the game.

As stated in the red box for rule <SG7>, teams should design their Robots to mitigate the possibility of controversial rulings. Teams may still be Disqualified for violations of <SG7> that are deemed Match Affecting or egregious by the Head Referee.