Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

Official Q&A: VRC 2022-2023: Spin Up

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SC1 clarification for "immediately after"


Margaret Trent (Event Partner)
28-Sep-2022

As stated in the rule SC1 - a the "immediately after" indicates after the discs, field elements, and robots on the field come to rest.

<SC1> All Scoring statuses are evaluated immediately after the Match ends. For determination of the Autonomous Bonus and Autonomous Win Point, all Scoring statuses are evaluated immediately after the Autonomous Period ends, unless otherwise noted. a. For the purposes of this rule, “immediately after” means when all Discs, Field Elements, and Robots on the field come to rest.

Can I get clarification for these instances:

1) The robot has launched a disc prior to the end of the match timer. It lands in a high goal after the time has ended. Based on this rule, as the disc has not come to a rest until after the timer it would still count. Is this correct? 

2) A robot is designed to launch three discs in immediate succession. The robot launches the first of three discs prior to the end of match buzzer, however, the last two launch after the buzzer. All three disc land in a goal (high or low does not matter as either way it would score for either alliance). As the first disc was shot prior to the end of the match, I assume that disc would count, however, the last two discs were shot prior to the end of the match therefore they would not count. Is this correct? (I am hopeful that TM will result in the robot disabling, however, I am not sure how the momentum of the flywheel etc. is impacted at the point TM disconnects the robot).
Answered by committee

Can I get clarification for these instances:

  1. The robot has launched a disc prior to the end of the match timer. It lands in a high goal after the time has ended. Based on this rule, as the disc has not come to a rest until after the timer it would still count. Is this correct?

  2. A robot is designed to launch three discs in immediate succession. The robot launches the first of three discs prior to the end of match buzzer, however, the last two launch after the buzzer. All three disc land in a goal (high or low does not matter as either way it would score for either alliance). As the first disc was shot prior to the end of the match, I assume that disc would count, however, the last two discs were shot prior to the end of the match therefore they would not count. Is this correct? (I am hopeful that TM will result in the robot disabling, however, I am not sure how the momentum of the flywheel etc. is impacted at the point TM disconnects the robot).

Thank you for your questions. As described in <SC1a>, "immediately after" means when all Discs, Field Elements, and Robots on the field come to rest.

Yes, the Disc described in the first instance would count as Scored wherever it comes to rest.

The second instance is slightly more complex, but because the last two Discs are launched by momentum from forces that occurred before the end-of-match buzzer, they should be counted as Scored wherever they come to rest. However, if the last two Discs were instead launched (for example) by a rubber-band mechanism triggered by an action that occurred after the end-of-match buzzer began, they would not be considered Scored. Ultimately, the Head Referee must make a call on whether they believe Discs should be considered scored based on both how and when they were launched by the Robot.