Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Tipping the Opponent's Platform is Illegal?


Jess Zarchi (Event Partner)
25-Oct-2021

Hello,

SG3

Platforms are “safe” during the endgame. During the last thirty (30) seconds, Robots may not contact the opposing Alliance’s Platform.

a. For the purposes of this rule, contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects. For example, contacting an opposing Robot who is contacting their own Platform would be considered a violation of this rule.

b. For the purposes of this rule, <G13> supersedes rule <G14>. Any Robot which is contacting its own Platform during the last thirty (30) seconds, provided that no other rules are being violated, will automatically receive the “benefit of the doubt”. Therefore, any contact with this Robot will be considered a violation, regardless of intent.

c. Per <SG10>, using a Scoring Object to contact the opposing Alliance’s Platform during the last thirty (30) seconds would be considered a violation of this rule. Placing a Scoring Object underneath the opposing Alliance’s Platform, such that it inhibits the opposing Alliance’s ability to utilize the Platform during the last thirty (30) seconds, would also be considered a violation of this rule.

SG10

Use Scoring Objects to play the game. Scoring Objects may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms (e.g., Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous routine per <SG4>.) The intent of this rule is to prohibit teams from using game objects as “gloves” to loophole any rule that states “a Robot may not [do some action]”. This rule is not intended to be taken in its most extreme literal interpretation, where any interaction between a Scoring Object and a Robot needs to be scrutinized with the same intensity as if it were a Robot.

Field Element Definition

The foam field tiles, field perimeter, white tape, Platforms, and all supporting structures or accessories (such as driver station posts, field monitors, etc).

Scoring Object Definition

A Ring or Mobile Goal.

Q&A 813 www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/813 “bolded portion” is SG3 C

The intent of this rule is to prohibit Teams from preventing their opponents' Platforms to become Balanced during the last thirty (30) seconds of the Match. The intent of the bolded portion is to prohibit Teams from using Scoring Objects to do so.

Q&A 816 www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/816

Q. I assume that if a team was to accidentally cause a Scoring Object to end up underneath the opposition Platform, if they were able to remove this before the last 30 seconds there would be no risk of an SG3 violation.

A. This would generally be a correct interpretation, yes.

it would not be feasible for a Head Referee to track which Alliance was last in contact with all Rings and Mobile Goals around the field.

Q&A 842 www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/842

If faced with this situation, we would recommend that Head Referees ask questions such as the following to guide their decision: How did the Mobile Goal get under the Platform? Has the Team in question received prior warnings or violations? Why did the red alliance not attempt to Balance the Platform? Does G13 and/or G14 apply (for either Alliance)?


It has been established that placing game objects underneath the opponents platform, if it inhibits the opponents from using the platform in the final 30 seconds, would be a violation of SG3 C if a referee verifies that it happened.

This brings up the scenario of tipping an opponent platform that already has a Scoring Object on it. It is legal to contact the opposition's Platform before the last 30 seconds, but illegal to leave a Scoring Object contacting the platform during the final 30 seconds.

When tipping a Platform before the final 30 seconds, Scoring Objects are being moved to the base of the Platform, in a similar place to where a Mobile Goal starts the match. If these Scoring Objects aren’t removed before the final 30 seconds, this is potentially a violation of SG3 C through SG10.

Does SG10 include using a Field Element to move Scoring Objects? Does this change if a Scoring Object is used to move the Field Element that interacts with Scoring Objects?

Thank you for your time!

(Is the text under SG10 meant to be in a red box?)

Answered by committee

The v2.2 Game Manual update included revisions to rule <SG3> which we feel address this question. We recommend reviewing the full text of <SG3>, including the “red box” clarifications, for more information. Notably, the following example was added:

Some example applications of this rule, and their intended penalties, are as follows:

[...]

• Tipping an opponent’s Platform, which has Mobile Goals already on it, prior to the last 30 seconds.

॰ No violation/penalty, provided that no other rules are violated

If this does not answer your question, please feel free to rephrase and re-submit.