Rule <SG2> states that the robot may not at any point during the match extend past 36 inches horizontally. So say if a robot had two arms one on the front and one on the back that started within the 18 inch cube starting requirements. but during the match when both arms are extended the robot exceeds 36 inches. However, when only one arm is extended at a time it fits the 36 inch requirements. So if the robot was coded so that only one arm can be extended at a time during match would this still violate <SG2> and would the robot be allowed to pass inspection?
The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.
<SG2> Rule Clarification on Robots with multiple configurations
Yes, this would be permissible.
However, when competing with a Robot which is physically capable of exceeding the 36" limit, Teams should expect additional scrutiny from inspectors and/or Head Referees. A mechanical or software "lock" would be highly recommended, to avoid any potential confusion or close calls.