Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

SG2 - A tall robot tips over exceeding the 36" expansion limit

Andrew Dahlen (Event Partner)

SG2 states Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match. When a robot expanded to a height greater than 36 inches tips over, is this is a violation of SG2? The tipped over robot's "height" is now in a horizontal orientation which exceeds 36".

Answered by committee

Yes, the expansion limit is still considered "horizontal" with respect to the gray field tiles, even if a Robot is no longer "upright".

Minor violations of this rule that do not affect or interfere with the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.

It will require a Head Referee judgment call to determine the severity of the violation. In many situations, a Robot which has tipped over does not affect or interfere with the Match to their advantage, and this violation would result in a warning. A Robot which has "accidentally tipped over" (with heavy "air quotes") in a Match Affecting manner may receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee's discretion.