Given the importance of neutral goals, teams will doubtless compete to possess them. And once one alliance possesses a goal, the other alliance may naturally want to take it away. What level of contact is allowed when attempting a takeaway, assuming the bot attempting the takeaway is touching only the goal? For example, assume bot A possesses a goal by grasping it in some way. Attempting a takeaway, bot B grasps the goal and pulls. A refuses to let go and gets knocked over or lifted off the ground by B in the process. Is this allowable, provided B only grasps the goal? <G12> limits bot-to-bot damage, tipping, and entanglement, but does not appear to address a situation when two bots are grasping a common object.
The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.
Level of Contact Allowed When Grasping a Goal
The v1.0 Game Manual Update included the following additions to rule <G12>:
Note: Incidental damage that occurs due to interaction with a Robot in Possession of a Neutral Mobile Goal will, in most cases, not be considered a violation of <G12>. Intentional damage, tipping, or dangerous mechanisms may still be considered a violation of <R3>, <S1>, or <G1> at the Head Referee’s discretion.
VRC Tipping Point is intended to be an offensive, interactive game. Robots interacting with Neutral Mobile Goals should expect vigorous interactions from opponent Robots, especially if attempting to interact with multiple Mobile Goals at once.
If this does not answer your question, please feel free to rephrase and re-submit.