Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.

The Q&A is closed for the 2021-2022 season. Any rule changes or clarifications pertaining to the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship will be included in the April 5 Game Manual Update. Teams attending VEX Worlds who wish to pre-submit questions for the driver's meeting should have received a contact form via email; if not, please contact your REC Foundation Team Engagement Manager for more information.

Official Q&A: VRC 2021-2022: Tipping Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

Lifting Opponents Platform by the Hinge in Final 30 Seconds


Jess Zarchi (Event Partner)
3 months ago

Hello,


Platform Definition

The 53.0” x 20.1” (1,346.2mm x 511mm) hinged polycarbonate device and the attached red or blue PVC pipes (highlighted below in Figure 17), located in each Alliance Home Zone, that sits 9.5” (241.5mm) high off of the ground when Balanced. The Platform is attached to a double hinge that allows it to tip towards the field in either direction.

SG3A B and C - Platforms are “safe” during the endgame.

During the last thirty (30) seconds, Robots may not contact the opposing Alliance’s Platform. The intent of this rule is to prohibit Robots from directly inhibiting their opponents’ ability to utilize the Platform at the end of a Match.

Points “a”, “b”, and “c” apply to Robot actions during the last thirty (30) seconds of the Match:

a. For the purposes of this rule, contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects.

b. For the purposes of this rule, <G13> supersedes rule <G14>. Any Robot which is contacting its own Platform, provided that no other rules are being violated, will automatically receive the “benefit of the doubt”. Therefore, any contact with this Robot will be considered a violation, regardless of intent.

c. Per <SG10>, using a Scoring Object to contact the opposing Alliance’s Platform would be considered a violation of this rule.


Because contacting the opponents platform base and double hinge aren't prohibited in the final 30 seconds, is it legal to cause the oppositions platform to tip in the final 30 seconds by only contacting the platform base or double hinge, intentionally or accidentally?

Thank you for your time!

Answered by committee

Because contacting the opponents platform base and double hinge aren't prohibited in the final 30 seconds, is it legal to cause the oppositions platform to tip in the final 30 seconds by only contacting the platform base or double hinge, intentionally or accidentally?

No.