The Q&A has closed for the current season.

Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

Cubes rolling into Inner Protected Zone


26982E
1 month ago

Hello,

Here are some relevant quotes from the game manual for my question.

SG3 - Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:

Case E - Contact an opposing Alliance’s Inner Protected Zone. Case E Violation - Any violation of points E, F, or G will result in a Disqualification, whether the interaction was Match Affecting or not.

SG7 - Use Cubes to play the game. Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited to):

  • Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per <SG3>
  • Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous Period per <SG2>

If a team were to intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, Match Affecting or not cause a cube to enter the opponents Inner Protected Zone (by intaking and it ejecting out of the robot, falling out of a tray/claw, etc.) this would be a violation of SG3-E via SG7 and result in a Disqualification. Is this a correct interpretation?

Thank you for your time.

Answered by Game Design Committee

If a team were to intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, Match Affecting or not cause a cube to enter the opponents Inner Protected Zone (by intaking and it ejecting out of the robot, falling out of a tray/claw, etc.) this would be a violation of SG3-E via SG7 and result in a Disqualification. Is this a correct interpretation?

Thank you for quoting the relevant rules in your question. Yes, this is a correct interpretation.

Thank you for your time.

You're welcome.