The Q&A has closed for the current season.

Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

Ramming while in the process of putting a stack into a unprotected goal zone


1155A
8 months ago

I am sorry if this question has been answered before but we could not find it.

Can a robot on alliance a push / ram a robot on alliance b while they are in the process of scoring a stack causing the alliance a bot to not be able to score the stack currently in there robot? In other words can you hit a bot that is in the process of scoring in a unprotected goal zone without getting a DQ?

Thank you for your time.

Answered by Game Design Committee

Please see the following similar Q&A's for reference, specifically the portion quoted below from Q&A 353:

www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/353

www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/288

The only parts of SG3 that refer to the non-protected Goal Zones are B and D. It is impossible to issue a blanket ruling that would cover all hypothetical robot-to-robot interactions. In most cases, if parts B and/or D have not been violated, then no violation of SG3 has occurred.

<SG3> Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:

B - Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones.

D - Contact either of the opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones or Barriers.