Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

G7 Confusion


2114C
2 months ago

G7 States:

Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited to): • Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per SG3. • Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous Period per SG2.

The two main rulings that I am considering to be in conflict are these:

www.robotevents.com/VEXU/2019-2020/QA/423

www.robotevents.com/VEXU/2019-2020/QA/366

The ruling in Q&A 423 states (in part):

because your questions do not involved destruction, damage, tipping, or Entanglement, G12 is irrelevant. SG7 and G3 are the only rules that should be considered. No, neither of these are illegal. These would both ultimately be G3 edge-case interpretations of SG7.

This ruling seems perfectly in line with the wording of G7, which specifically notes "actions that would be otherwise illegal". However, the previous ruling does not seem to follow this reasoning. It (Q&A 366) states:

SG7, a similar rule that utilizes the same principle, states the following:

"SG7 Use Cubes to play the game. Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited to): • Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per SG3. • Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous Period per SG2."

Although both of these rules reference defensive interactions as their examples, they are intended to be applications of an overall principle that Robots and any Cubes they are possessing should be considered as one entity.

"Their robot was in possession (not just touching) of a cube and that cube was touching the base cube of that stack. He felt that the way the rule is written, the stack should not be considered scored since the robot (through that cube in its possession) was touching the base of the stack. If the possession of a cube is an extension of the robot, referee felt the robot was touching the base cube of the stack since it possessed the cube that was touching it."

This is a correct interpretation (assuming that the Robot possessing the Cube was a Red robot). The Cube being contacted would not be considered a Base Cube, and the Scored status of all other Cubes in the Goal Zone would be affected accordingly.

Since in Q&A 423 G12d was not deemed to be relevant due to the considered actions not involving "destruction, damage, tipping, or Entanglement", then it would seem to follow that in Q&A 366 SG7 would also not be relevant due to the considered action not involving "actions that would be otherwise illegal", as it would not seem to be in the spirit of G3 for it to be illegal to touch one's own stack. In spite of this, Q&A 366 still appears to apply SG7.

Additionally, in Q&A 423 it was stated

SG7 intentionally does not include the word "possess", it includes the word "use".

In my question, I was not referring to the word "possess" as written in any particular game rule, but rather Q&A 366's answer which again states (in part):

Although both of these rules reference defensive interactions as their examples, they are intended to be applications of an overall principle that Robots and any Cubes they are possessing should be considered as one entity.

Is it intended that the wording of SG7 take precedence over the wording of Q&A 366 or vice versa?

Overall, it just doesn't seem that the overall principle of "Robots and any Cubes they are possessing should be considered as one entity." is explicitly defined by any rule found in the manual and is thus very difficult to consistently apply across a single tournament, let alone different regions. Would the GDC consider adding a rule explicitly defining this concept to the manual or at least posting such a definition on this forum? The clarification would be greatly appreciated.

G7  
Answered by Game Design Committee

Is it intended that the wording of SG7 take precedence over the wording of Q&A 366 or vice versa?

Overall, it just doesn't seem that the overall principle of "Robots and any Cubes they are possessing should be considered as one entity." is explicitly defined by any rule found in the manual and is thus very difficult to consistently apply across a single tournament, let alone different regions. Would the GDC consider adding a rule explicitly defining this concept to the manual or at least posting such a definition on this forum? The clarification would be greatly appreciated.

We apologize for the confusion. Q&A 366 was intended to serve as the explicit clarification that SG7 is an overarching principle that should apply to most Robot interactions. G12 is intended to apply specifically to interactions that involve damage, tipping, or Entanglement.