The Q&A has closed for the current season.

Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

Clarification of SG3 Case E, contacting the inner protected zone


MCCC
4 months ago

If a robot is in contact with it's inner protected zone, would SG3 case E apply if said robot is then contacted by an opposing robot?

Answered by Game Design Committee

The intent of SG3-E is to prevent Robots from interfering with opposing Robots' ability to Score Cubes in their own Inner Protected Zone, and to provide an additional element of risk for Robots attempting to drive anywhere in the vicinity of an opponents Inner Protected Zone.

Regarding indirect contact with an opponent's Inner Protected Zone, G14 should be considered:

<G14> You can’t force an opponent into a penalty. Intentional strategies that cause an opponent to violate a rule are not permitted, and will not result in an infraction on the opposing Alliance.

Therefore, a Head Referee's judgment call will ultimately depend on the context of the interaction and the Robot designs involved. A Blue Robot playing defense on a Red Robot that pushes a Red Robot into their own Inner Protected Zone may be considered a violation of SG3-E. A Red Robot with a piece of string laying in their own Inner Protected Zone who then contacts a Blue Robot would not result in a violation of SG3-E.