Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

Traybots outside vertical volume being contacted by opponent


Christopher Putnam (Event Partner)
3 months ago

This is regarding rule SG3

Outer Protected Zone - The 3-dimensional volume extending upwards from the foam tiles and bound by the field perimeter, outer edge of the Protected Zone tape line, and the inner edge of the Inner Protected Zone tape line.

SG3 Case A - Contact an opponent Robot which is fully contained within their Protected Zone - minor violation will result in a warning, match affecting offenses will result in a DQ, multiple warnings may also receive a DQ.

Traybots that do not have their trays vertical may have their base fully in the protected zone while their tray is outside the 3D volume of the zone. In this case, i.e. the robot's tray is outside the vertical volume, is contact by an opponent not a violation of SG3a because the robot is not fully within their protected zone?

Answered by Game Design Committee

Thank you for quoting the relevant rules in your question.

In this case, i.e. the robot's tray is outside the vertical volume, is contact by an opponent not a violation of SG3a because the robot is not fully within their protected zone?

This is correct. As noted in this Q&A, SG3 Case F is intended to read as it is currently written. Teams should bear this in mind when designing Robots or driving during a Match.