The Q&A has closed for the current season.

Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

<SG3> Clarification on descoring cubes


David Farrell (Event Partner)
10 months ago

Case 'F' in rule <SG3> states that causing an opponent's Scored Cubes to no longer meet the definition of scored in their protected zone is an automatic disqualification. First, although the smaller scoring zone is not within a protected zone, are those cubes protected from descoring? (it feels counter to common sense for them not to be) Secondly, does the interaction between a robot and the cubes need to be direct? For example, would a robot that hits the field perimeter be in violation, and thus disqualified, if the contact with the field wall causes a stack to fall.

Answered by Game Design Committee

First, although the smaller scoring zone is not within a protected zone, are those cubes protected from descoring?

As you quoted, case F explicitly refers to Cubes within the opponent's Protected Zone. Descoring Cubes in the non-Protected Goal Zone is covered by case B, quoted here for reference:

B - Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones.

Minor violations of points A, B, C, or D that do not affect the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.

Hopefully this answers your question. If not, please feel free to re-phrase and re-submit.

Secondly, does the interaction between a robot and the cubes need to be direct? For example, would a robot that hits the field perimeter be in violation, and thus disqualified, if the contact with the field wall causes a stack to fall.

Let's look at the full text of SG3, quoted here for reference and bolded for emphasis:

<SG3> Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:

Thus, indirect contact, such as transitively through a Field Element, would still be considered a violation.