The Q&A has closed for the current season.

Official Q&A: VRC 2019-2020: Tower Takeover Usage Guidelines

SG3 Case F clarification


72247A
10 months ago

Rule SG3 Case F stipulates:

Robots may not intentionally or acidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions ... Cause Scored Cubes within the opponent’s Protected Zone to no longer meet the definition of Scored (i.e. “knock over their stack”).

As written, this section would only apply to the Goal Zone contained within the protected zone. Knocking over a stack in the unprotected Goal Zone would be covered by SG3 Case B "Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance's Goal Zones."

This would mean that knocking over a stack of cubes in the unprotected goal zone would only be a disqualification if it is Match Affecting.

Was this distinction intentional, or was SG3 Case F intended to read:

Cause Scored Cubes within the opponent’s Goal Zone to no longer meet the definition of Scored (i.e. “knock over their stack”).

Thanks!

Answered by Game Design Committee

As written, this section would only apply to the Goal Zone contained within the protected zone. Knocking over a stack in the unprotected Goal Zone would be covered by SG3 Case B "Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance's Goal Zones."

This would mean that knocking over a stack of cubes in the unprotected goal zone would only be a disqualification if it is Match Affecting.

Yes, these are both correct interpretations of SG3.

Was this distinction intentional, or was SG3 Case F intended to read: [...]

There are no typographical errors in SG3 Case B and Case F; that is to say, they were intended to read as they are currently written.