Robotics Education & Competition Foundation
Inspiring students, one robot at a time.
This Q&A is now read-only

Official Q&A: VRC 2018-2019: Turning Point

Usage Guidelines All Questions

36" expansion question


David Sankey (Event Partner)
20-Jan-2019

> <SG2> Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. As per <G3>, at the beginning of a Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide by 18” (457.2 mm) tall.

a. Once the Match begins, a Robot which is contacting the Expansion Zone may expand vertically with no height limit. However, once fully outside of the Expansion Zone (i.e. no longer contacting it), the Robot must return to a height limit of 18” (457.2 mm) tall. b. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match. c. As a result of this rule, Robots may not contact High Flags.

When measuring a robot, should inspectors consider horizontal slices of the robot? What physically should the inspector do with the tool to make sure the robot is in compliance?

Is the following robot legal?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/DJ2r24MtJxJU9ykE9

Thanks to @TaranMayer

Answered by Game Design Committee

Physically, an inspector should pass the Robot Expansion Sizing Tool over the Robot and check if any portion of the Robot contacts the Tool. This is demonstrated in the relevant Referee Training video:

youtu.be/cnrKOBmIAFI?list=PLvvcc7S26YEj0tB5oTmhUwB251kf-Tab5&t=294

The hypothetical Robot in the linked image would not be legal, as it would fail this test. (thank you for the image to specifically illustrate your question)